India is a country with rich natural heritage. The country has three biodiversity hotspots. (Western ghats, himalayas and Indo-burma region). The endemic species in the regions are protect by different conventions and wildlife laws. India is a signatory in CBD. So the laws made are in accord with CBD.
Convention on Biological diversity
The laws in India protect these areas, India is one of the countries that signed CBD(convention on biological diversity), whose objective is to enable countries to develop national strategies for the conservation of biological diversity. At present Nagoya protocol is adopted by CoP of CBD. This convention is a multilateral treaty and was opened at Rio Earth summit.
EnB Timeline Chart by Mrunal
Picture credit :: The one and only Mrunal bhai
Salient features of this convention are
  • The agreement covers all ecosystems, species and genetic resources.
  • Links traditional conservation efforts to the economic goal of using biological resources sustainability
  • In view of rapidly expanding biotechnology, Cartagena protocol on biosaftey   ( bio-safety protocol)addressing technology development and transfer and other  bio-safety issues.
  • The most discussed, sharing in fair and equitable way.
The governing body of this convention is CoP consisting of all governments that have ratified this treaty.
Indian makes laws to protect the rich biodiversity of the country. As per these laws, India has designated protected areas  in the country, as designated by IUCN.
  • National parks(120 national parks IUCN category II)
  • Wildlife sanctuaries(IUCN category IV, 500 animal sanctuaries 48 tiger reserves, project tiger, latest tiger reserve rajaji national park)
  • Biosphere reserves(IUCN category V )
  • Reserved and protected areas
  • conservation reserves and community reserves
  • private protected areas
  • conservation areas
The above are the protected areas in the country.